The Four Immaterial Attainments

The four immaterial attainments lie beyond the four jhanas and cannot be experienced until the four jhanas have been experienced.

1. The attainment of infinite space.

2. The attainment of infinite consciousness.

3. The attainment of nothingness.

4. The attainment of neither perception nor nonperception.

The Buddha said Nirvana lies beyond the four immaterial attainments.



How To Practice Zen