The Four Foundations of Mindfulness

The Satipathanna Sutta is the Four Foundations of Mindfulness Sutta. It is found in the Majjhima Nikaya.

The four foundations are:

1. Mindfulness of the body;

2. Mindfulness of feelings;

3. Mindfulness of the mind; and

4. Mindfulness of mind objects.

Ajahn Brahm, in Mindfulness, Bliss and Beyond says that mindfulness meditation works best after one has entered into one of the jhana stages of meditation.

In The Anapanasati Sutta, the Buddha said that practicing all sixteen steps of the mindfulness of breathing technique taught in that sutta automatically includes practice of the Four Foundations of Mindfulness and that each of the Seven Factors of Enlightenment will arise in sequence as each of the Four Foundations is contemplated with mindfulness.




How To Practice Zen