The Four Brahma Viharas

1. Loving kindness (metta).

2. Compassion (karuna).

3. Sympathic joy, i.e., happiness over the success or happiness of others (mudita).

4. Equanimity (upekkha).

A vihara is a dwelling, so these are the four places an enlightened being lives in. Therefore, these are the four qualities we should dwell in as well.


How To Practice Zen