The Five Aggregates

1. Form (rupa).

2. Feeling (vedana).

3. Thought/perception (sanna).

4. Choice/volition/opinions (sankhara).

5. Consciousness (vinnana).

These are the five skandhas in Sanskrit and the five khandas in Pali.

An apparent self appears when these five aggregates come together, just as the aggregates of sand, rocks, cement and water can come together to form concrete. But none of the ingredients/aggregates have an independent existence and thus the self or concrete also lacks independent existence.






How To Practice Zen